Hart County DUI Lawyer
At The Law Offices of Richard S. Lawson, we are dedicated to DUI defense. We have over 50 combined years of criminal experience and know how to use this knowledge and skill to get you the best outcome possible for your case. If you have been charged with DUI or another traffic related offense in Union County, contact our Hart County DUI Attorneys today. We are extremely well versed in DUI law and we will work tirelessly to develop a hard-hitting defense for your Hart County DUI case. Please contact our office for a free, no obligation consultation and case evaluation.
Texting While Driving in Georgia
It has been illegal to text and drive in Georgia for years. However, officers continue to frequently pull people over for distracted driving. Some of the laws surrounding distracted driving include:
- Drivers cannot have a phone in their hand or touching any part of their body while talking on their phone while driving.
- Even with hands-free technology, drivers cannot write, read or send text messages, e-mails, social media content and other internet data while on the road. (Voice to text is allowed)
- Drivers cannot watch videos when they are on the road. (Navigational/GPS videos are allowed)
- Drivers cannot use their phones or electronic devices to record video when they are on the road. (Continuously running dash cams are allowed)
- Drivers may listen to streaming music that does not include videos on the screen of their phone or device while driving but cannot touch their phones while on the road to activate or program any music streaming app. Streaming music that is controlled by and listened through the vehicle's radio is allowed. Drivers who need to touch their phones to activate/program their music streaming apps must do so before getting on the road
Penalty for Distracted Driving in Georgia
The fine for a first conviction is $50.00 and 1 point assessed against the driver's license. The fine is $100.00 and 2 points for a second conviction and $150.00 and 3 points for three or more conviction. The fines for a 2nd or 3rd offense only apply when date of a 2nd or 3rd conviction takes place within 24 months of the date of the first conviction. First time offenders can have the charge dropped by showing the court they have obtained a device that allows them to talk on a phone with hands-free technology or devices.
Contact Us Today
If you or a loved one have been charged with DUI or texting while driving in Hart County, GA, contact our DUI Lawyers in Hart County today. There is no time to waste when charged and it is in your best interest to hire the very best representation for your case. Our attorneys work hard to protect your rights, freedom, and future. Call us today.