Stephens County DUI Lawyer
Have you been charged with your first DUI in Stephen County GA? If so, you need to call the Law Offices of Richard S. Lawson immediately. With over 25 years of experience and over 5,000 clients represented, our attorneys have the skills you need to achieve a great outcome for your case. In addition, our founder, Richard Lawson, served as a former North Georgia prosecutor before opening his own firm. He knows how the State works and how they think because he used to be in their shoes! Call us today and find out how we can assist with your case.
30 Day Warning!
If you have been charged with a DUI in Stephens County, you only have 30 days to appeal the suspension of your driver's license or to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle. A failure to file for an ALS hearing or to install the device will result in the automatic suspension of your driver's license. Furthermore, if you refused the state's chemical test, your license will automatically be suspended for one year without an option for a limited permit.
First DUI Charge in Stephens County
A first DUI conviction is charged as a misdemeanor in Georgia. Even though a misdemeanor is not a serious as a felony charge, the punishment for even a first DUI can have a significant impact on your life. First DUI punishments in Stephens County can include:
- Fines between $300-$1,000
- 1-10 days in jail
- 12 months of probation
- 40 hours of community service
- Driver's license suspension
- Alcohol and drug counseling
- Mandatory drug and alcohol treatment program
- DUI school
If sentenced to probation instead of jail time, there will be monthly probation fees along with possible drug testing fees. Generally, the fines amount to over $1,000 after court costs and surcharges are added.
If convicted of DUI, that mark will stay on your record for the rest of your life. While community service and jail time will eventually end, your DUI conviction could impact you for the rest of your life. A DUI conviction on your record can make it difficult to obtain employment, apply for scholarships, or receive credit.
You Have Options When Charged with DUI in Stephens County
It is very important that you understand you do not have to face these harsh consequences. As experienced Stephens County DUI Attorneys, we will work hard to protect you from unnecessary consequences of DUI charges. We will help you decide whether filing the 30-day letter or installing the ignition interlock device is the best decision for your case. If we agree that the ALS hearing is the best decision, we will file the letter for you and handle the administrative license hearing without you having to take off work. The goal of this hearing is to stop the suspension of your Georgia driver's license. After that, then we will work on defending against the State's case against you. We will make sure you do not have serious and long term penalties for your Stephens County DUI case.
Call our DUI Lawyers in Stephens County now for a free case evaluation. We have been practicing DUI law in Georgia for over 25 years and will advise you on what to expect after your arrest. We will walk you through every step of the process and inform you of your options. Let us take the pressure off you and get started on your best defense.