(404) 816-4440

Hoschton DUI Lawyer

If you have been arrested for your first, second, third, or fourth DUI in Hoschton GA, you are not alone. Our Hoschton DUI Attorneys will fight for your rights. You should never try to fight these charges alone An experienced DUI defense attorney will know what motions need to be filed, how to negotiate a plea, or when to take your case to trial to get the charges dismissed. Without practicing DUI law everyday, you could miss something that could make all the difference in your case. That is why we urge you to contact our DUI Attorneys in Hoschton today. We want to protect your rights and your future. Call now!

DUI Penalties in Georgia

In Georgia, driving under the influence (DUI) is generally charged as a misdemeanor, but there are situations where it can be a felony charge. For a first, second, or third DUI charge within 10 years, a conviction will be treated as a misdemeanor. However, that does not mean that the sentence will be minor. The following penalties are common punishments in Georgia:

First DUI penalty in Hoschton:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • 12 months of probation
  • Fine between $300-$100 plus court costs and surcharges
  • At least 40 hours of community service
  • DUI school
  • Driver's license suspension, with a limited permit to drive
  • MADD panel
  • Substance abuse counseling

Second DUI penalty:

  • Minimum three days in jail
  • 12-36 months or probation
  • Fines between $600-$1,000
  • 240 hours of community service
  • License suspension for at least 1 year
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device
  • Surrender or license plate
  • 17 weeks of alcohol and drug counseling
  • Publication of photo in the local newspaper
  • DUI Court programs

Hoschton Third DUI Penalty

  • 12-36 months of probation
  • Fine between $1,000-$5,000
  • Surrender of license plate
  • 5-year license suspension with a limited permit available after two years of ignition interlock device
  • 17 weeks of alcohol and drug counseling
  • Publication of photo in the local newspaper
  • Habitual violator status

A person can be charged with Felony DUI in Hoschton in multiple ways.

  • The first way is by being convicted of a fourth DUI in 10 years. A person convicted of 4 DUI's within 10 years will face fines up to $5,000, a prison term up to five years, and an extended license suspension, among other things.
  • Second, a person will be charged with felony DUI if they were arrested for DUI when children under 14 were also in the vehicle. The driver would be charged with both DUI and DUI Child Endangerment. Furthermore, if multiple children were in the vehicle, then the driver will face multiple counts of child endangerment. A misdemeanor Child Endangerment conviction can result in an individual being fined up to $1,000 or being sentenced to jail for up to one year.  An individual charged with felony Child Endangerment may be fined between $1,000 and $5,000 and sentenced to prison for between one and three years.
  • Lastly, if an intoxicated driver causes an accident that results in another individual suffering some kind of serious bodily injury, this offense may be charged a felony. As with Child Endangerment, each injured person is counted as a separate DUI With Serious Bodily Injury charge. The penalty for this offense is between one and fifteen years behind bars.

If you have been charged with your first DUI or DUI Child Endangerment, our Hoschton DUI Lawyers are here to help. With over 5,000 people represented, we understand what it takes to reach a successful outcome, and help you avoid these harsh consequences. Call our DUI Attorneys in Hoschton today no matter what the facts of your case are!

Take Action for Your Hoschton DUI Case Now

If you or a loved one have been charged with DUI, contact our Hoschton DUI Lawyers to schedule a free case evaluation. There is no risk or obligation when you contact us. Don't wait to get started fighting back against your DUI case. No matter if you are facing misdemeanor or felony DUI charges, we can help. Call us today.

You Only Have 30 Days To Save Your Drivers License

Our attorneys will pick up the phone at any time. Call our office now to avoid automatic suspension of your drivers license.

CALL US 24/7

Most Reviewed Law Office in Georgia

We invest 100% of our time, energy and passion into every case to achieve the best results possible.


Two Decades of Experience

Find out why choosing a team with experience can make all the difference in your DUI case.


We've Helped Nearly 5,000 People

Our team is committed to delivering our clients the results that they need after a DUI arrest.