Rabun County DUI Lawyer
Rabun County DUI penalties vary depending on whether it's your first offense, if you endangered any other lives, and your age. Most penalties result in license suspension, fines, and jail time. If you feel like you've been wrongfully arrested and charged, you can fight back. Call our Rabun County DUI Attorneys today and see how we can help fight for your rights.
DUI Charges in Rabun County
There are several ways you can get convicted of DUI. The most basic involves having a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level over the legal limit. This is called “DUI per se”. The limits in Georgia apply as follows:
- .08% or higher: If you are an adult of 21 years of age or older and hold a regular driver's license, with no other restrictions.
- .04% or higher: If you hold a commercial driver's license (CDL), regardless of what vehicle you were driving.
- .02% or higher: If you are under the legal drinking age of 21 years old.
DUI doesn't just refer to alcohol. Any substance can count as a DUI if it affects your driving. This includes drugs and medicine, such as:
- Illegal drugs
- Legal prescription drugs, like painkillers
- Legal over-the-counter medications, like cold medicine
If it can be proven that you were “under the influence” by a substance, then the exact BAC does not matter. You can still get convicted even if your BAC isn't above or at the legal limit. This is called “DUI less safe” and can be difficult to defend against on your own because it is based on the officer's observations. If you have been charged with DUI per se or DUI less safe, let our Rabun County DUI Lawyers assist with your case.
Basic DUI Penalties in Rabun County
DUIs carry various penalties depending on the specifics of what happened, whether you refused a chemical test and your age. All DUIs generally have penalties including:
- Jail time
- License suspension
- Community service
- DUI school
- Installation of ignition interlock device
- Related penalties, such as higher insurance costs
You will face stricter penalties if you already have prior DUIs on your record. For this purpose, any DUI in the last ten years will count against you.
Special Penalties for Refusing the Chemical Test
Under Georgia law, if you get arrested for DUI, you will have to submit to a chemical test. It can be either:
- A blood test
- A breath test
- A urine test
You can request the type of test you prefer, but if it's not available, you must take the one that is. Refusing the test carries penalties of its own. Among the most serious is additional license suspension. Refusal has an extra one year, two years, or three years of license suspension, depending on whether it's your first, second, or third offense.
Accidents, Injury, and Other Factors
All the penalties above assume that you had a “normal” DUI where no one was hurt and nothing serious happened. This isn't always the case. You will face tougher penalties if:
- You caused an accident
- Someone lost their life
- You had a child in the vehicle.
All these situations are very serious, and you should seek the assistance of an experienced Rabun County DUI Lawyer immediately.
After Your DUI
Besides criminal penalties, DUIs also carry long-term costs. For example, your car insurance costs will go up. You may have trouble applying for jobs, getting into college, or qualifying for financial aid.
You Only Face Penalties If You Get Convicted
With the assistance of an experienced DUI Attorney in Rabun County, the penalties above can be avoided if you get your DUI charge dropped, dismissed, or even reduced to a lesser charge. Even the license suspension can be fought and potentially avoided if you move quickly.
A good Rabun County DUI lawyer can help you fight your charge, request an ALS hearing with the DDS, and in many cases, walk away with minimal interruption to your life.
Don't Fight Your DUI Charges Alone
Whether you've gotten arrested for your first or fourth DUI offense in Rabun County, you should never try to fight against your charges alone. A lawyer can help you fight for your innocence against the prosecution in many ways, including:
- Challenging the results of your breath or chemical tests
- Using your rights to prove that the police had no reason to stop you
- Consulting with experts and witnesses that support your side of the story
- Collecting evidence pertinent to proving your innocence
Contact Us Today
You don't have to go through this challenging time by yourself. Our experienced and dedicated Rabun County DUI attorneys have years of experience that can help you win your case.