A Hall County man has been arrested and charged with Driving Under the Influence three times within the past 53 days. Michael Jones, 36, was first arrested for DUI on April 24 on Lula Road in Hall County. Only six days later, Jones was again pulled over and charged with DUI by Georgia State Patrol troopers. Most recently, on June 15, Jones was stopped while speeding. The officers discovered that along with speeding and DUI, Jones was driving with a suspended license. As of June 21, Jones remained in Hall County Jail with a $29,130 bond.
As a Hall County DUI Attorney, I know that multiple DUIs are a very serious crime under Georgia Law. In today's post, I will be discussing what someone facing multiple DUIs can expect.
Multiple DUIs in Hall County
FIRST DUI CHARGE
A first time DUI offender in Hall County can expect a minimum of 24 hours in jail but may face up to 12 months of incarceration. With a first DUI, however, a judge may be willing to let the offender complete their sentence on probation. Nevertheless, the cost of any DUI charge will be substantial in both time and money. Common punishments imposed upon a first DUI conviction can include:
- Fines of $300-$1000
- 1-10 days in jail
- 12 months of probation
- 40 hours of community service
- Mandatory treatment
- Alcohol and/or Drug Counseling
- License Suspension
SECOND DUI CHARGE
A second DUI charge in Hall County will carry more severe penalties than a first offense. However, a second offense is still considered a misdemeanor offense in most cases. Georgia Law required that someone charged with a second DUI spend a minimum of three days in jail. However, judges and prosecutors may impose considerably more jail time once you are convicted. Common punishments imposed on a second DUI conviction include:
- Fines between $600 - $1000.
- Probation term of 12-36 months (this may depend on whether you receive associated offenses)
- 3-12 months in prison (on top of the three days required to be served)
- 240 hours of community service
- Mandatory treatment
- Mandatory alcohol and drug counseling
- DUI Court programs
- License suspension for a minimum of 1 year
THIRD DUI CHARGES
A third DUI conviction in Hall County can be a life-changing experience. The consequences are more severe than a first or second DUI conviction. A third DUI conviction carries a minimum of 15 days in jail but is routinely much longer. Additionally, after a third DUI, your license will be suspended for five years – this is because, after a third DUI, you will be declared a Habitual Violator. Though there is a possibility you may qualify for a limited permit after two years of suspension, you will be required to have an interlock device installed in your car. Further, if a Habitual Violator is found driving with a suspended license, they will be charged with the driving while being declared a habitual violator (a felony offense). Standard Punishments imposed on offenders after their 3rd DUI include:
- Fines between $1,000-$5,000
- 12-36 months of probation
- 3-12 months in prison (on top of the 15 days you are required to serve)
- Being declared a Habitual Violator
- Status of high and aggravated misdemeanor
- Fines of up to $5,000
- No good time credit (meaning you must serve every day of your sentence) for any conviction carrying the penalty of jail-time.
- 5 Year license suspension & more
If you have been charged with a DUI in Hall County, you need to act fast and call the Law Office of Richard S. Lawson today to speak with our qualified Hall County DUI Lawyers.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment